At some point I will lose you

At some point I will lose you

I am trying to wake up before your very eyes, I say. And so it is simply a fact that at some point I will lose you. You will either wake up before I do, and I'll lose you. Or you'll fall completely asleep again, and I'll lose you. You feel however you feel upon hearing this, reading this, and I say, You can feel however you want about it. It's simply what will happen. You might wonder, What if we wake up together? And if you do wonder that and should you say it to me, I might reply, Well that would be a very beautiful thing. The cool but not too cool oasis breeze blows through, whisping some of my hair across my face and I stare out beyond the oasis, upstream. But I've never known anyone who could keep with that idea, I say. We always part at one time or another. You say whatever you say, do whatever you do. If you want or you'll let me, I cuddle up with you, and we look upstream together.